Beginning again, again

1 Jan

{Week 1}

In 2011, God laid it in my heart to memorize Colossians.  Not just a few verses but the entire 4 chapters. I failed miserably.

In 2012, I resolved to do the same. The “same” meaning to memorize, not to fail, but fail I did.

This year,  I’m reaaaaaaalllly going to do it. Memorize, not fail (there, I made that clear).  I mean, I’m setting up a brand new blog  just to hold myself accountable.

The next few posts will be repost from 2012:


Scripture Memory:

Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, and Timothy our brother,
To the saints and faithful brothers in Christ at Colossae:
Grace to you and peace from God our Father.

(Colossians 1:1-2 ESV)

Paul became an apostle by the will of God. He was a Pharisee (Philippians 3:5-7) and in his own words, a “persecutor of the church.” But God (I love this phrase – anytime you see that it means something good is about to happen) had something in mind for him (see what I mean?). Something that is beyond his imaginings. Paul preached the gospel to the Gentiles and his writings live on today.

God can give someone a Damascus experience where the blindness and scales will fall afterwards. No one is beyond the reach of God’s mighty hand. Amen and Amen.

What hope that gives me!

One Response to “Beginning again, again”

  1. bogodoy January 4, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    Amen. I’ll join you on your adventure. I have had a Damascus experience and totally empathized with the Apostle Paul as I read his writings (not as fantastic as his; my scales were figurative). I just pray I would have his consistency and faithfulness to run the race to the end.

Share your thoughts?

