Patience…with joy

8 Jan

{Week 6}

Scripture Memory:

May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light. (Colossians 1:11-12 ESV)

If last week was a prayer for my children, this week it’s a prayer for me.

Confession time: I have no patience whatsoever. N-O-N-E. If you want to see the ugly in me come out, make me wait. That’s been the running theme of my life so far.

Recently, I locked myself out of the office. I called Security and it took a long time for someone to come up. But something was different this time. Maybe it’s because I have already memorized these verses and they were somewhere deep in me already. That’s the only explanation I can think of because I did not get mad at:

  1. myself for forgetting the key,
  2. again at myself for not bringing my phone with me, and
  3. at the unknown security guard who seemed to be taking his sweet time.

I thought maybe God allowed this to happen since it’s the only time He can get me away from uhm, Instagram.  He finally had my undivided attention, no phone, no computer, no distraction. I decided to pace the hallway in prayer for a friend’s Mom who is very sick and not a believer. The waiting time became a time of prayer and thanksgiving. I was disappointed when I heard the elevator ding.

So really, God can give me the strength – through the indwelling of the Holy Spirit to do what I can’t. Notice He made the provision of His glorious might first before He even mentioned patience. And not just the run of the mill patience, but patience with joy. (What an odd pairing, isn’t it? Usually patience – or more specifically, impatience – is coupled with a lot of grumbling and attitude.) He knew I would need divine help for this.

God wants us to be joyful while we wait. And why shouldn’t we? The answer lies in verse 12. No matter what happens we have a share of the inheritance from God!  Now, that is worth the wait.

5 Responses to “Patience…with joy”

  1. Morgen January 9, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    Well said. I completely related T.

    • ~ Grace & Peace January 9, 2013 at 11:39 am #

      Thank you, Morgen. We’re all a work in progress, right?

  2. onethousandverses January 16, 2013 at 1:08 am #

    I have to write PATIENCE in all caps here because in my life right now, that is what I can sense God is teaching me. You know my issue about this crippling nerve disease has been going on for a while now–even before my hysterectomy. I am amazed at how God has taught me not to sulk and get depressed even when the nerve pain I go through every day is the worst that I have ever gone through before my spine surgery ten years ago. It makes me cry to realize that through my pain, I could pray for others and can actually feel the joy when I do. I am patiently waiting for God’s healing. I know He will in HIs time.
    The Lord has His wonderful ways of sustaining the work He has began in us….and He will finish it. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More on patience « And It Was So - January 10, 2013

    […] if to emphasize the memory verse for this week, this is what I read in my morning devotion from Streams in the Desert. I also noticed that God […]

  2. Patience and Prayer | This Day With God - January 15, 2013

    […] Patience…with joy (anditwasso.wordpress.com) […]

Share your thoughts?

